Vargas Museum

I decided to head to the Vargas Museum in UP Diliman after hearing about the exhibit Forces at Work which is a collaboration with The Japan Foundation, Manila.

Vargas Museum X The Japanese Foundation Manila
Vargas Museum
Vargas Museum

This was my favorite art in the lobby. I did not see the name of the work anywhere or if it’s even the main point of the artwork as it was like a small room, a cubicle containing the television. Maybe it was just built around the television to emphasize the point. Even without having the patience to watch what’s in the TV, I still find it genius and a beautiful piece both aesthetically and architecturally. I didn’t know that foam cups could give elegance almost reminiscent of the old Filipino windows made of capiz shells (windowpane oyster).

Cup room
“Cup room”

It is big enough in person to not get goosebumps.

No trypophobia
No trypophobia

I liked this photo a lot, including the wallpaper.

From Tropenmuseum, Netherland
From Tropenmuseum, Netherland

SAM_5565 I found these in the staircase.

Artist: Bru Sim
Artist: Bru Sim

If Pop art is turning popular culture references into art, and ARTPOP is bringing high art into the pop culture, I would classify these as Pop art. Just look at the prints: Filipino snacks that used to be famous. Many parents would recognize them from their childhood.

Bru Sim
Bru Sim

Bru Sim's pants After only liking 2 artworks in the lobby, in a way, the 3rd floor saved the exhibit. It is the reason why I would not discourage people from checking the exhibit. SAM_5524 Isn’t it interesting? SAM_5526 This is the schedule of the Vargas Museum events until the end of January 2015. I was not able to attend the event today because I had to work so I have no idea how the events go yet; although if you’re not here from the North, I do not suggest that you go out of the way just for the exhibit alone. SAM_5560

Leave a Reply

