Vargas Museum February 2015

I went to the University of the Philippines Diliman to check this month’s Vargas Museum exhibit.

Quezon Hall Amphitheatre
Quezon Hall Amphitheatre

Exhibits at the lobby are always political in nature. I do not like that very much because it has already been done several times. I totally understand that culture includes politics, but artworks for a cause just do not appeal to me. I prefer art with meaning I can appreciate without neglected aesthetics.

SAM_5923

SAM_5925

Politically-charged art bore me, but I like this one.

Swarm Bibliotheque
Swarm Bibliotheque

Clicking this photo will redirect you to the website on the tarpaulin.

SAM_5970

On the table are relics of decades past.

SAM_5969

SAM_5967

Artworks on museums are usually off-limits to the hands of the viewers. I love how people are allowed to touch this one.

SAM_5959
Junyee “Dinaanan” 2015

SAM_5964

SAM_5962

The highlight of this month’s exhibit are the street photographs.

SAM_5865

These ones are my favorites.

SAM_5931
Elpidio “Loi Lee” Juan (Hong Kong)
SAM_5941
Elpidio “Loi Lee” Juan (Hong Kong)
SAM_5943
Ed de Guzman (Metro Manila)
Rommel Bundalian Metro Manila
Rommel Bundalian (Metro Manila)
Ben Molina (California)
Ben Molina (California)
Little Wing Luna (Metro Manila)
Little Wing Luna (Metro Manila)

SAM_5912

The exhibits this month are worth checking out. Drop by the museum and just ignore the redundant political art.

Art is philosophy n’est-ces pas?

SAM_5960

Leave a Reply

